Taco Stuffed Zucchini

Is it possible to have a crush on a blog? If so, I currently have two hard-core crushes. Our Life in Food — my savior in my efforts to eat low-carb and not kill myself.  Seriously, I stumbled on to this blog as a “normal reader” — aka, not looking specifically for a low-carb site. Her photos are impeccable and you don’t even realize that most of the recipes avoid carbohydrates until you’re already hitting the print button.

And On the Woodside, for the kind of writing which helps you live life a little more…tenderly.  Absolutely can’t get enough.  I’ll stop there for fear of sounding like a stalker, even though I kind of am.

Anyway, I found and printed this stuffed zucchini recipe a few months back, before I realized I was obsessed with Our Life in Food.

I love mexican flavors, and again, the photo of these just called to me. I’m sorry to say that my photo is BAD, but this dish is YUMMY. Seriously yummy. The filling tastes like the best taco dip you ever had, and Brian devoured two halves in no time. Since I am such a dainty eater (…), I only had one half.  SO good, and can’t wait to eat the leftovers.

Taco Stuffed Zucchini
Serves 3-4
Inspired by Our Life in Food

Here’s what I used:

  • 3 6-inch zucchini
  • 1/2 lb organic ground beef
  • 1 1.25 oz packet taco seasoning (about 4 tbsp)
  • 1/2 15 oz can of organic chopped tomatoes (or 1 roma tomato, chopped)
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped
  • 4 oz cream cheese, softened in the micro
  • 1/2 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • salt, pepper

Here’s what I did:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400.
  2. Trim the ends from the zucchini, and slice them lengthwise in half. Using a paring knife, cut out the insides of the zucchini to form boat shapes. I just scored around the edges and scooped it out with a spoon to the best of my ability. Which does not say much.
  3. Chop the guts up that you removed and reserve.
  4. Brown the meat in a saute pan. Once browned, add the taco seasoning and a couple of tbsp of water.
  5. Add the onions, tomato, and reserved zucchini to the pan. Season it all with salt and pepper, and cook until most of the water released from the vegetables has evaporated.
  6. Remove the pan from the heat and stir in the softened cream cheese.
  7. Place the zucchini in a baking dish (I used a cast iron frying pan), and fill up the boats with the taco mixture.
  8. Top with the grated cheddar. Carefully pour about 1/4 inch water to the baking dish (so that the zucchini are sitting directly in the water).
  9. Bake for 25 minutes.
Tagged

3 thoughts on “Taco Stuffed Zucchini

  1. Carrie says:

    Wow, thanks!!! *Blushes*

    So glad that you’re finding some low carb recipes that you like! :) How long have you been eating low carb? We changed our diets about a year and a half ago, and I don’t think we’ll ever look back!

    • vanessa says:

      Off and on (mostly off!) for the last year or so. It feels a lot healthier than a low-fat diet, which I like. But pasta is a serious weakness for me :)

  2. Bri says:

    Yeah, got to say that this was amazing. Made a long list of things to put this filling on. Love it in the ‘boat’ though.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers

