Horseradish Dill Roast Beef Dinnah.

Anyone watching The Chew? While they still have some bumps to work out, I quite enjoy it. Mostly because of Clinton Kelly, who I think is pretty awesome. When I watch the show, I love his long island pretend-accent, and I can totally hear him saying “roast beef dinnah”. I can also hear anyone in my hometown Boston saying the same thing, but anyway…
This roast beef was so good and so easy. If you’re anything like me, different cuts of beef totally baffle you. I found this guide online and I literally brought it to the grocery store with me to help me find the right cut for roasting. Handy! I served this with simple roasted carrots and individual potato gratins (recipe to come soon).
Horseradish-Dill Roast Beef
Serves 4-6
Just the Tip / Inspired by Our Life in This Kitchen

Here’s what I used:

  • 3-4 beef roast, whatever cut you like (I used Top Round)
  • 6 tbsp prepared horseradish, divided
  • 6 tbsp Dijon mustard, divided
  • 3-4 cloves of Garlic, finely minced or grated
  • 3 tbsp dill, minced
  • 1 tbsp thyme, minced
  • Salt and pepper

Here’s what I did:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350.
  2. In a small bowl, combine half the horseradish, half the mustard and the garlic.
  3. In another small bowl, combine the dill and thyme with the remaining horseradish and mustard.
  4. Heat a large skillet (cast-iron, preferably) over medium high heat.
  5. Pat the meat dry with a paper towel and season all sides with salt and pepper. Brown very well on all sides. Smear the entire thing with a layer of the  garlic/mustard/horseradish mixture and transfer to the oven for 30 minutes.
  6. Take the meat out of the oven and coat it with the herb/horseradish/mustard mixture.  Return to the oven and roast until it reaches 125, approximately 20-30 more minutes.
  7. Remove from the oven and let rest for at least 15 minutes under foil. Slice and serve!
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 111 other followers

