Herb Breaded Tilapia

Fish tacos were on the docket tonight. You see, I do my menu planning a week in advance and sometimes I’m just not feeling what I originally planned. Tonight was one of those nights, but since I had bought the fish and needed to cook it up while it was fresh, I went with a simple breaded recipe. I had an idea of what I wanted to do, but I did a quick google search for breaded fish to see if anything surprising popped up. The usual suspects came up — baked and breaded, breaded and fried, and the like. I had already decided at the gym that I had earned at least a pan-fry instead of baking, and I stumbled upon a recipe on Ella Says Opa! that incorporated some herbs. Perfect.

I must say, this fish was the bomb. Ready in 10 minutes flat, crispy, flaky, pretty much exactly what I wanted. I served it along with some rice pilaf (total comfort food for me) and an apple-pecan salad with goat cheese. Yum!

Herb Breaded Tilapia
Just the Tip / Inspired by Ella Says Opa!
Serves 4

What I used:

  • 4 tilapia fillets
  • 1/4 cup flour (I used white whole wheat flour)
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat breadcrumbs
  • 1 egg + 1 egg white
  • 2 tbsp fresh minced parsley
  • 1/2 tsp dried thyme
  • grapeseed oil (or canola, vegetable, etc.)
  • salt, pepper
  • lemon for serving

What I did:

  1. Season the fish on both sides with salt and pepper.
  2. Lay out 3 shallow dishes for your breading station. In the left one, add the flour. In the middle, add the egg and egg white. On the right, add the breadcrumbs, parsley, and thyme.
  3. Pour enough oil to lightly cover the bottom of a large nonstick saute pan and heat over medium-high heat.
  4. Dip each piece of fish in the flour, then egg, then breadcrumb. Shake of the excess and add to the pan. Cook for 3 minutes on each side. Squeeze some lemon juice over top and serve.
Tagged

3 thoughts on “Herb Breaded Tilapia

  1. Tamara says:

    Wow, we had almost the exact same dinner. Baked tilapia, brown rice, and steamed broccoli. Thanks for this recipe!

  2. chefconnie says:

    Very pretty. I am new to this blog and love it. I have some tilapia from whole foods in the freezer that I will defrost for dinner tonight. Thanks for the inspiration.

    • vanessa says:

      Welcome and thank you! I’ve not had good luck with frozen fish (mostly bought at Costco, so unluckily I’m always left with A LOT of it!). I wonder if WF has better quality…will have to experiment with smaller quantities. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 110 other followers

