Broiled Bluefish with Herbed Lemon Mustard Aioli

Broiled Bluefish with Herbed Lemon Mustard Aioli - Just the TipI found ridiculously fresh bluefish for a ridiculously low price at the store so I decided to pick some up on a whim for lunch. I don’t think I’ve ever cooked bluefish myself before, but I remember eating it with a mayo topping at my family’s house on Cape Cod, so I decided to keep it simple and try my hand at that. I served this with some of the extra lemony aioli topping on the side and it was awesome.

Broiled Bluefish with Herbed Lemon Mustard Aioli
Just the Tip / Inspired by Food and Wine
Serves 2

What I used:

  • 3 tbsp mayonnaise
  • 1 tbsp dijon mustard
  • 1 large clove garlic, grated/finely minced
  • zest and juice of 1/2 lemon, plus more lemon juice for serving
  • 1 tbsp finely minced herbs (I used dill, chives, and parsley)
  • 2 8-oz bluefish fillets
  • salt and pepper

What I did:

  1. Preheat broiler.
  2. Mix the mayo, mustard, garlic, lemon zest and juice, and herbs together in a small bowl. Season with salt and pepper. Spoon half of the mayo mixture into a small bowl and set aside for serving.
  3. Spray a baking sheet with nonstick spray and lay the bluefish on it, skin-side down. Slather the mayo mixture on each piece of fish and broil (about 4-6 inches from the heat), for about 8 minutes until the fish is cooked and the mayo is a bit blistered. Serve with the reserved mayo and a squeeze of fresh lemon.

Broiled Bluefish with Herbed Lemon Mustard Aioli - Just the Tip

One thought on “Broiled Bluefish with Herbed Lemon Mustard Aioli

  1. vito aluia says:

    Wish I was there…..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

