Marrow on Toast w/ Parsley Salad

Ok, ok. This is definitely an acquired taste, but it’s something I grew up eating and still love the taste and smell (not so much the sight…) of this yummy treat. Growing up and even today, my family fights over the marrow from the lamb shanks in the gravy for Sunday’s supper…Easily the best part. I thought I’d try to prepare a little differently – and since Anthony Bourdain said this would be his choice for last meal, I thought this was as good a choice as any.

Marrow on Toast with Parsley Salad
serves 2 / adapted from this recipe

Here’s what I used:

  • 4 marrow bones (I found ’em at Stop & Shop)
  • Kosher salt for soaking and sea salt for serving
  • 1 bunch of parsley
  • 1 large shallot
  • 1 tablespoon capers
  • Italian or french bread, thinly sliced and toasted
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • Juice from 1/2 of a lemon
  • Freshly ground black pepper

Here’s what I did:

  1. *Very Important* Soak marrow bones in water and a couple of tbsp of kosher salt for at least 24 hours, changing water 4-5 times throughout. This will help extract any remaining blood in the marrow. Trust me, you don’t want to schmear gelatinous blood on your toast (or do you?)
  2. Rinse and dry the bones. Roast them in a baking dish at 450 for about 20 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, make salad. Coursely chop parsley, capers, and shallot together. Dress with olive oil and lemon juice, S&P.
  4. Season marrow with sea salt and schmear on toast and serve with parsley salad.
2 thoughts on “Marrow on Toast w/ Parsley Salad

  1. Bone marrow always scares me a little… although I’m intrigued by this. If I can find some marrow bones, maybe I’ll give this a shot. I’m always up for trying new, crazy things. Have you tried different types of marrow bones? Are some better than others? (i.e. beef, lamb, etc.)

    • vanessa says:

      It’s a little scary, but if you don’t think about what it actually is, it’s delicious. We have been known to literally fight for bones in my family. 🙂

      And, sorry — don’t know too much about types of bones. I bet it doesn’t matter much.

Leave a Reply

