Mustard Green Goodness

One of my promises to myself this year is to eat as many dark leafy greens as I can my sausagey little hands on. And then that made me want a sausage. Thus, a compromise and a lunch were born.

Mustard Green Goodness
adapted from this recipe

This is great as a healthy side dish or on top of a sausage on a bun like I did here. I heart mustard!
Here’s what I used:

  • 1 bunch (about a pound) mustard greens, washed
  • 1 tablespoon dijon mustard aka elixir of life, plus more for garnishing
  • 1/4 cup of FF half and half (I might use chicken broth next time…cream didn’t seem to add much)
  • 1 large shallot, minced (a few tablespoons)
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • S&P
  • chicken sausage (I used roasted pepper and asiago flavor – really delicious!)
  • fiber one hot dog buns

Here’s what I did:

  1. Put a large pot of salted water on to boil.
  2. Pull the leafy part of the greens away from the stems. Throw away the stems. Roughly chop up the greens. Cook in boiling water for about 6-7 minutes until tender. Drain.
  3. Meanwhile, heat up the butter in a large saute pan. Over medium heat, add the shallots and a little salt and cook for about 5 minutes. Add drained greens and toss around in the butter and shallots.
  4. Whisk half and half (or broth) with dijon mustard in a small bowl and then add to the greens. Let reduce for about 5 minutes and serve on top of sausage. All I did to the sausage was lightly brown it in a teensy bit of olive oil.
  5. Garnish the whole darn thing with more dijon and stick your face in it!

Wiener.

Happier wiener!

Leave a Reply

