Escarole Soup

This is my go-to soup when I’m craving something comforting and very darn healthy.

Escarole Soup
serves 4-6 / recipe adapted from Sopranos Family Cookbook / 6 ww pts

Here’s what I used:

  • 1 head of escarole
  • 6 cups low-sodium chicken broth (or veggie broth for vegetarian)
  • 2-3 large carrots, peeled and diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 19oz can cannelini beans
  • 1 14oz can diced tomatoes
  • 1 cup ditalini (or any small pasta), uncooked
  • parmigiano reggiano
  • crusty bread
  • S&P
  • 2 tsp olive oil

Here’s what I did:

  1. Cut the stem off of the escarole and rinse the escarole really really well (I just fill up my sink and swish it around). I think I bought THE dirtiest head of escarole ever.

    See that black stuff around the escarole? Yeah, that’s black water. I did a good triple rinse. AND, I used my neato salad spinner to dry it…wheeee!
  2. In a large pot, heat up the olive oil. Saute garlic over medium heat for about 2 minutes – stirring often so it doesn’t burn.
  3. Add tomatoes and escarole and season with a good pinch of S&P. Cover and simmer for 20 minutes until escarole is wilted.
  4. Add the broth and the beans, stir, cover and simmer for another 20 minutes.
  5. Add the pasta and cook for another 10 minutes or so until the pasta is done. The pasta tends to absorb a lot of the broth as it sits in the fridge, so you can cook the pasta separately if you want and add right before serving.
  6. Ladle into a bowl, serve with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese, crusty bread, and stick your face in it!
Leave a Reply

