Lightened Up Cheesy Spinach-Artichoke Dip

I cannot believe this is not bad for you. It is SO good ‘n cheesy that you may feel very naughty eating it. I even doubled my serving and had it for dinner with some homemade pita chips because it was so dang good. I’m still trying to get behind this slow cooker thing, but this may have won me over. All in all, this recipe rocks and I love Cooking Light.
Lightened Up Cheesy Spinach-Artichoke Dip
serves 5 (1/4 c servings) / adapted from this recipe / 3 ww pts

Here’s what I used:

  • 1 14-oz can quartered artichoke hearts, drained and coarsely chopped
  • 10 oz frozen chopped spinach, thawed, drained, and squeezed dry
  • 8 oz light cream cheese, softened
  • 8 oz low-fat sour cream
  • 3/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 3/4 cup fat-free milk
  • 1/2 cup (2 oz) crumbled reduced-fat feta cheese
  • 1/2 cup diced onion
  • 1/3 cup low-free mayonnaise
  • 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground pepper

Here’s what I did:

  1. Place all of the ingredients in a 3 1/2-quart electric slow cooker; stir well.
  2. Cover with lid; cook on low setting for 2 hours. Serve warm with toasted pita wedges (recipe below) or your favorite veg.

Bonus “Recipe”: Homemade Pita Chips
This is not really a recipe because there’s absolutely nothing to it. I may never buy a store-bought pita chip ever again!I had some leftover pita chips from my pita pizza the other day, so I decided to bake ’em up.

Here’s what I used:

  • a few pitas (I used Thomas’ Sahara Multi-Grain)
  • a few mists of olive oil from my mister (hehe)
  • kosher salt

Here’s what I did:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350.
  2. Cut each pita into 2 thin pieces horizontally. Cut each half into 6 wedges.
  3. Put on a baking sheet, mist with olive oil, sprinkle with salt, and bake for 10 minutes or until golden brown. Eat them!
Leave a Reply

