Cioppino

Recently I bought an amazing amount of cod at Costco. Have I mentioned my love for Costco? Well, I also love seafood. While I haven’t quite kept my New Year’s resolution to cook fish at least once a week, I’m getting better. Now look at this picture. Tell me you don’t want to eat that. Delicious, easy, healthy — can’t ask for much more than that.

Anyway, I used some of the cod I bought right away, but there was no way I could make the 3 pounds I bought without freezing some. This is uses some of that frozen cod (defrost before you add it to the stew!), fresh scallops, and cultivated mussels. You can add whatever seafood you like — shrimp, calamari, etc. This recipe comes from a cooking class my mom and I went to at Stonewall Kitchen in York, ME. It was a great class and would definitely go back again.
Cioppino
serves 4-6 / 6 ww pts, 8 with bread

Here’s what I used:

  • 1 fennel bulb, chopped
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 green bell pepper, diced
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 2 tsp italian seasoning
  • 1/8 tsp dried hot chili flakes
  • 1 28-oz can crushed tomatoes
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 cup red wine
  • 8 oz fish stock (or you can use clam juice)
  • 1 lb cod, cut into 2-inch chunks
  • 1/2 pound scallops
  • 1 pound mussels (discard any that are open before you cook them or that won’t open after you cook them)

Here’s what I did:

  1. Heat oil in a large heavy pot over medium-high heat. Add onion, pepper, garlic, fennel, red chili flakes, bay leaves, italian seasoning, and S&P.
  2. Reduce the heat to medium and cook, stirring occasionally, until the veggies soften, about 4-5 minutes.
  3. Add tomatoes, water, wine, fish stock, and boil, covered, for 20 minutes.
  4. Reduce the heat back to medium and stir in seafood. Cook, uncovered, until fish is cooked through and the mussels open all the way. Throw away the bay leaves and stick your face in it, with the assistance of a big hunk of crusty bread.
One thought on “Cioppino

  1. Tricia says:

    You like Costco? I had no idea.

Leave a Reply

