Creamy Pasta with Bacon

IMG_4291This is my first attempt at making something from Rocco DiSpirito’s book “Now Eat This!“, which, frankly, is amazing. Buy it. Or, better yet, stay tuned here because I intend on blogging every damn recipe from it anyway. Each and every recipe looks yum and diet-friendly. Since carbonara is probably my favorite dish of all time, I had to try this first.

So, this recipe is technically called “Spaghetti Carbonara” in the book…but I wouldn’t really call it carbonara. It is everything a carbonara should be (rich, creamy, bacony), but it doesn’t really compare to the real thing. That said, it really is rich, creamy, and bacony and a perfect answer to a naughty pasta craving, AND it won’t put you in the hospital. All good things. I must say, I was pretty skeptical about his use of Hormel Real Bacon Bits, but at 50% less fat and actually really good, I think I am a convert.

Creamy Pasta with Bacon
serves 4 / 6 ww pts!

Here’s what I used:

  • 8 oz whole-wheat linguine
  • Nonstick cooking spray
  • 1 large yellow onion, thinly sliced
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 5 oz can evaporated skim milk (about 1/2 cup)
  • 2 large egg yolks
  • 1/3 cup grated parmigiano-reggiano cheese
  • 1/3 cup hormel real bacon pieces

Here’s what I did:

  1. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Salt the water and add the pasta and cook according to the package directions (or even a minute longer for whole wheat pasta), about 10 minutes. Drain.
  2. While the pasta is cooking, heat a large cast-iron skillet over high heat. When the skillet is hot, spray it with cooking spray and add the sliced onion. Season the onion with salt and pepper and saute, stirring occasionally, for 5 minutes or so. Reduce the heat to medium-low and add the garlic. Continue to cook for a few more minutes, stirring often to prevent the garlic from burning. Add more cooking spray if necessary.
  3. Meanwhile, in a small bowl, whisk together the evaporated milk and the egg yolks.
  4. Add the bacon and the pasta to the skillet containing the onions and garlic, and mix well. Remove the skillet from the heat and add the egg mixture.
  5. Toss the pasta with tongs to coat it, allowing the residual heat to thicken the sauce.
  6. Stir in the cheese, and season the pasta with salt and pepper to taste.
2 thoughts on “Creamy Pasta with Bacon

  1. I just made this! It’s so yummy. I was honestly a little skeeved out by the bacon bits, so i went with turkey bacon which is 65% less fat and pretty delicious. It was so easy to make and I don’t feel guilty at all!!! I can’t wait to make everything from this book. Yippeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! Here’s a picture of mine: http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/s720x720/386307_832012328917_45600104_37703026_1945504327_n.jpg
    I garnished mine with grape tomatoes just because who doesn’t like tomatoes?? Also, I used whole wheat linguini instead of spaghetti.. and I left out the onions because I’m not a fan of them.

Leave a Reply

