Blindfolded Eggs over Cheddar Garlic Grits

Remember when I said I couldn’t cook eggs to save my life? Well, I’m starting to consider them my specialty. I guess practice makes perfect.

As soon as I saw this recipe in my Cooking Light mag, I knew I had to make it. What the heck are blindfolded eggs, you ask? Well, besides an adorable name, it’s a method for cooking eggs that involves using ice and steam, which results in a combo fried/poached egg. Yum and great way to make sunny-side up eggs!
Blindfolded Eggs over Cheddar Garlic Grits
serves 2 / adapted from cooking light / 6 ww pts

Here’s what I used:

  • 4 eggs
  • 1 ice cube, cracked in half
  • cooking spray
  • Salt & freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 cup quick-cooking grits
  • 2 1/4 cups water
  • 2 tablespoon grated reduced fat cheddar
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 2 tsp sliced scallions or chives

Here’s what I did:

  1. Bring the water to a boil. Add a healthy pinch of salt and “rain” in the grits while whisking constantly. Reduce heat to medium-low and immediately switch to a wooden spoon and stir frequently for about 5 minutes until thickened.
  2. Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Spray with cooking spray and gently crack the eggs into the pan. Season with salt and pepper and cook for about 1 minute until the whites are set a bit. Add the ice to the pan and cover the pan. Let cook for about 2 minutes until the yolks are cooked to your liking.
  3. While the eggs are cooking, stir the cheese and garlic powder into the grits. Season to taste and keep warm until the eggs are ready.
  4. Serve the eggs over top of the grits and garnish with scallion or chives.
3 thoughts on “Blindfolded Eggs over Cheddar Garlic Grits

  1. Jacob says:

    You are the EGG-MASTER! Seriously: delicious.

  2. […] Go to Recipe Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  3. I was wondering what blindfolded eggs were cus I was reading Happy Happy Happy by the Duck Dynasty guy, and I found yours because they look like the best blindfolded eggs ever. I need your eggs

Leave a Reply

