Oven-Fried Chicken Parm (Cooking Light style)

I love chicken parm but it’s oh so bad for you. Deep fried chicken, covered in cheese…mmmm. I thought I’d give Cooking Light’s version a try and it was soooo good! Perfect, really. Because Rocco DiSpirito (author of Now Eat This that i love) is such a fan of Whole Wheat Panko breadcrumbs, and because I searched through hell and high water to find some (I finally came across some on a dusty bottom shelf in a Cambridge Whole Foods and bought all they had!), I used that instead of regular white panko as the recipe called for.

Anyway, this chicken parm was crispy on the outside, moist on the inside, and covered in cheese. What more could a girl ask for?

If you haven’t noticed, I’ve been making a lot of my recipes for 2 lately. I’m usually paring it down from a recipe that would normally serve 4, so feel free to double it with no worries. Just thought I’d mention that.

Oven-Fried Chicken Parm (Cooking Light style)
serves 2 / adapted from cooking light / 9 ww pts

Here’s what I used:

  • 1/4 cup flour (I use white whole wheat)
  • 1/2 tsp dried oregano (a few sprinkles)
  • 1 egg white, whisked until frothy (Rocco’s tip!)
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat panko
  • 2 (6-ounce) skinless, boneless chicken breasts
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper
  • Cooking spray (I used my olive oil misting thingy that I love)
  • 1/4 cup jarred tomato-basil pasta sauce
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese
  • 6 tbsp shredded part-skim mozzarella cheese

Here’s what I did:

  1. Preheat the oven to 450.
  2. On a separate cutting board, cover the chicken with a layer of plastic wrap and pound it out so it’s the same thickness (you’re not going for a super thin cutlet here, just make sure it’s even thickness).
  3. Season both sides of the chicken with salt and pepper.
  4. Set up your breading station. On the left: a shallow plate with flour and oregano mixed in. In the middle: a bowl with the slightly frothy beaten egg whites. On the right: another shallow plate with the breadcrumbs.
  5. Before you start breading, heat a couple tsp of olive oil in an oven-safe frying pan (cast-iron, preferably) over medium-high heat.
  6. Now, start breading: Dredge the chicken in the flour on both sides until completely covered in flour. Shake off extra and then slather in the egg whites. When fully slathered, dredge in the breadcrumbs until well covered on both sides.
  7. When the oil is hot, add the chicken. Cook for 2 minutes on both sides until it looks like this:
  8. Spray the chicken with cooking spray and then stick the pan in the oven for 5 minutes. After 5 minutes, take out of the oven and, on each piece of chicken, put 2 tbsp of pasta sauce, 3 tbsp of mozzarella, and 2 tbsp of parmesan cheese until it looks like this:
  9. Stick it back in the oven for 5-6 minutes until it’s all melty and gooey.

I served this with basic polenta made all deliciously creamy with 0% greek yogurt! That stuff is genius.

Eat this!

One thought on “Oven-Fried Chicken Parm (Cooking Light style)

  1. I have to admit- this chicken parm was delicious (as most stuff from Cooking Light is). However, next time you are looking for breadcrumbs (or to save a little $$), just make your own. I have never made Panko bread crumbs, but I have made my own regular bread crumbs. I think that the only difference is the courseness that they are grated at, but here is a recipe on how to make your own Panko bread crumbs. (I think even Tricia could make these :)http://www.recipezaar.com/recipe/Homemade-Panko-Bread-Crumbs-167729

Leave a Reply

