Pupusa Tacos

When I told my favorite vegetarian friend that I was making pupusa tacos for dinner, she endearingly asked me if i was making tacos out of puppies. Although I’m sure that would be delicious, I instead chose frozen Goya pupusas. When I traveled to El Salvador a few years ago, we went to a restaurant that was entirely devoted to pupusas, which are fluffy corn tortillas that are stuffed with cheese or beans and cheese. These were, by far, my favorite Salvadoran food stuff. So why not make an overstuffed open-faced taco with them?

Pupusa Tacos
serves 4-6 / adapted from jenny mac’s lip smack

Here’s what I used:

  • 4-6 bean and cheese pupusas
  • 1 lb ground turkey (I used 93% FF for this…I am starting to abhor 100% ground turkey breast a little)
  • taco seasoning (1 tsp each of chili powder, garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, coriander, paprika, dried oregano, and 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp black pepper)
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • taco toppings to your liking (I used fresh tomato salsa, 50% reduced-fat cheddar, avocado, red onion, and sour cream)
  • olive oil

Here’s what I did:

  1. Heat a little olive oil in a large saute pan over medium-high heat. Add the turkey in, and break up with a wooden spoon while browning. Sprinkle on the taco seasoning and continue tossing around until it’s fully cooked (about 10 minutes).
  2. Heat the pupusas in a 350 oven for 5-7 minutes until warmed up.
  3. Assemble tacos – pupusa/taco meat/toppings. Eat it!
2 thoughts on “Pupusa Tacos

  1. Jacob says:

    would it be at all possible to eat this forever!?

  2. vanessa says:

    i certainly don't see why not…

Leave a Reply

