Merguez Sausage with Halloumi and Roasted Red Peppers

Merguez sausage is very likely the best sausage I’ve ever had.

That is a bold statement, I know, but from the moment I unwrapped the package and smelled these spicy, fragrant little weenies, I was in love. This dish is impossibly easy, absolutely delicious, and will put a smile on your face. I promise.

Merguez Sausage with Halloumi and Roasted Red Peppers
Serves 2-3
Recipe by Just the Tip / Inspired by Nigella Lawson

Here’s what I used:

  • 8 links of merguez lamb sausage (a little more than 1/2 lb) (purchased at Savenor’s Market in “Dali Sq.”)
  • 1 8-oz block of halloumi cheese
  • 1 12-oz jar roasted red peppers
  • garlic powder

Here’s what I did:

  1. Preheat oven to 425.
  2. Slice the cheese into thin-ish slices and scatter on a baking tray that’s been sprayed with cooking spray.
  3. Scatter the sausage on top of the cheese. Do the same with the roasted red peppers, that you’ve torn into strips with your hands.
  4. Sprinkle with a little garlic powder and roast for 15-20 minutes.
  5. Thank me.
2 thoughts on “Merguez Sausage with Halloumi and Roasted Red Peppers

  1. Shawn says:

    Aluia I was looking for some info on homemade sausage. I recently went to brunch in my neighborhood called the Savin Hill Kitchen. While the brunch was unimpressive, the homemade sausage was amazing. Have you tried the homemade sausage route? From what I understand it’s a really involved process

    • vanessa says:

      I don’t think it’s too difficult, actually. My aunt makes yummy sausage — I think the equipment is key. Kitchenaid mixer (which I do not own because I hate to bake) with the meat grinding and sausage casing attachments.

Leave a Reply

