Balsamic Grilled Vegetables and Basil Quinoa Salad

I heart my CSA. I LOVE getting fresh summer veg each week, straight from the farm. I was having the girls over for dinner and drinks (and bachelorette finale…don’t judge), and thought this would make a great vegetarian meal. I was not wrong (unlike Ali, whose bachelorette choice was questionable).
Balsamic Grilled Vegetables and Basil Quinoa Salad
Serves 4 with leftovers
Recipe by Just the Tip / Inspired by Veggie Belly
Here’s what I used:
For the veg:
  • 2 medium/large zucchini, cut into big cubes
  • 2 small/medium eggplant, cut into big cubes
  • 1/2 large red onion, cut into chunks
  • 1 1/2 cups cherry tomatoes
  • 8 sprigs fresh thyme, leaves stripped
For the dressing:
  • 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 6 tbsp olive oil
  • 4-5 garlic cloves, grated
  • salt, pepper
For the quinoa salad:
  • 4 cups water
  • 2 cups quinoa, rinsed
  • 1/2 cup basil leaves, chopped
  • 1/4-1/2 cup toasted pine nuts
  • salt, pepper
Here’s what I did:
  1. Whisk the oil and vinegar together for the dressing and set aside.
  2. In a medium saucepan, bring the water up to a boil for the quinoa. Add the quinoa, and a pinch of salt, and bring back up to a boil. Once boiling, reduce heat to low, cover, and cook until the water has absorbed, about 20 minutes.
  3. Put the cut veggies in a large bowl and pour half of the dressing over them, tossing well. Season well with salt and pepper and preheat grill (I used my stove-top grill pan).
  4. Spray or wipe the grill with olive oil and grill the veggies until grill marks form and they are tender but not mushy.
  5. When the quinoa is cooked, toss with the second half of the balsamic dressing. Stir in the salt, pepper, pine nuts and basil.
3 thoughts on “Balsamic Grilled Vegetables and Basil Quinoa Salad

  1. Lia says:

    Hi Vanessa! Which CSA do you use? I want to sign up for one for next year, but I have no idea how to choose one. This dish looks fantastic!

  2. vanessa says:

    Hey Lia! We use Farmer Dave’s – the farm is in Dracut but they have a bunch of drop off spots, one of which is minutes from my house. I had no idea how to choose one either, so I randomly picked Dave’s because a) cute name b) really good website. I split a regular share with a friend and it’s a perfect quantity, esp. since I cook so much. Comes out to $10/week, and it’s ridiculously worth it. Maggie has a CSA too — you should ask her about it!

  3. Sonia says:

    Hi! I want to try the quinoa but I am afraid it will either be too dry or too “healthy” tasting. How was it?

Leave a Reply

