Sausage Stuffed Mushrooms

Lately I’ve been into stuffing stuff. I get a ton of stuffable veg from my CSA, but I have yet to see a mushroom, which I am always strangely craving. I was in the process of trying to manage my completely out of control freezer, and I found a few of my favorite fatty provolone and garlic pork sausages tucked away. I knew they must be stuffed. This filling is really delicious — so delicious, that I couldn’t help but sample a few spoonfuls during the stuffing process. Salty, cheesy, herby, savory. MMM.

Sausage Stuffed Mushrooms
Recipe by Just the Tip / Inspired by Ina Garten

Here’s what I used:

  • 24 oz extra large button mushrooms
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 lb sausage (I love the provolone and garlic pork sausages at Market Basket), removed from the casings
  • 2 scallions, minced
  • 1/4 red onion, minced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2/3 cup whole wheat panko
  • 8 ounces softened cream cheese (I used Philadelphia Whipped…marscapone would be great, too)
  • 1/3 cup grated parmigiano
  • 1/3 cup grated pecorino
  • 1/3 cup fresh parsley, minced
  • 1 tbsp italian seasoning
  • salt, pepper

Here’s what I did:

  1. Preheat the oven to 325.
  2. Remove the stems from the mushrooms and finely (seriously, chop it finely) chop it.
  3. In a medium saute pan, heat the olive oil over medium high heat. Add the sausage and brown for 8-10 minutes, breaking up into small pieces.
  4. Add the chopped mushroom stems and cook for 3 more minutes. Stir in the scallions, onion, and garlic and cook for another 2 to 3 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the panko crumbs, stirring to combine evenly with all the other ingredients.
  5. In a large bowl, combine the sausage mixture with the pecorino, parmesan, and cream cheese. Add the parsley, italian seasoning, and salt and pepper to taste.
  6. Using a spoon, fill each mushroom generously with the sausage mixture. Arrange the mushrooms in a baking dish large enough to hold all the mushrooms in a snug single layer.
  7. Spray the top of the mushrooms with olive oil (or cooking spray) and bake for 25 minutes. Switch the broiler on and broil the mushrooms for a minute or two until they are brown and crusty.
Leave a Reply

