Tilapia with Citrus Bagna Cauda

I was looking for interesting tilapia recipes and I was immediately drawn to this because it involves anchovies. I adore anchovies. There, I said it. I love anchovies so much, I may have tripled the amount I used in this recipe. They’re not fishy AT ALL — really. Trust me. Bagna Cauda translates to “hot bath” in Italian. I would not mind bathing in this. Num num num.

Tilapia with Citrus Bagna Cauda
Serves 3
Recipe by Just the Tip / Inspired by Giada De Laurentiis

Here’s what I used:

  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 5 anchovy fillets
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced or grated
  • 1-2 tbsp freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 1 tbsp thinly sliced fresh basil leaves
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 1 teaspoon orange zest
  • 3 (6-ounce) skinless tilapia fillets
  • salt and freshly ground pepper

Here’s what I did:

  1. Cook the butter and olive oil in a small saucepan over low to medium heat just until the butter is melted, stirring frequently. Add the anchovies and stir until the anchovies dissolve, about 2 minutes.
  2. Add the garlic and cook just until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Remove from the heat. Stir in the orange juice, basil, and lemon and orange zests. Season the sauce, to taste, with salt. Keep warm while you cook the fish.

  3. Sprinkle the fish with salt and pepper and spray with olive oil. Fry the fish until just opaque in center, about 3 minutes per side.
  4. Transfer fish to platter and drizzle the sauce over and around the fish and serve.
Leave a Reply

