Spice Cabinet Civilization

I’ve been wanting to organize my spice shelf foreverrrr. I am definitely a person who enjoys a nice, crisp font labeling my various sundries…if that makes me a geek, so be it.

Since completing this project about a couple of hours ago, I have stolen at least 4 sneak peaks into my new cabinet — it just makes me smile. If anyone shares the same flavor of eccentricity as me, I used Avery 5195 labels in SF Old Republic font. Except for the “y”. I hated the “y” in that font, so I changed all of the “y”s to windows’ basic Tunga font. I decided on these jars from Kaylx — I was looking for a jar that was at least 6 oz so that I wouldn’t need to keep extra bags and bottles around for extra storage.  Finally, some peace.

Classic exchange between my BFF and me:

me: DUDE
my spices
A-MAZING
😀 😀 😀 😀
Colleen:  sigh.
5 thoughts on “Spice Cabinet Civilization

  1. Jacob says:

    Warning: I’m taking the font geeky-ness to a whole new level here…

    You are right: the ‘y’ in ShyFoundry’s Old Republic sucks. The entire font is basically a re-working (ripoff) of Avant Garde, anyway, so borrowing that ‘y’ would have worked well – or, for that matter, you might have just used a classic cut of Avant Garde in the first place.

    And, FYI, Tunga is a typeface developed for the Indic script Kannada. The roman characters in the font are just Arial. You are using an Arial ‘y’… yikes. End font-geek rant here.

    Font ridiculousness aside, your spices look mah-volous! Truly to be envied!

    Fontastically yours,
    Jacob

  2. vanessa says:

    fucking arial. arial?! Now i have to start over.

  3. Lee says:

    I can’t find these jars anywhere. Or, anything of similar quality. Your link doesn’t seem to work. Do you know where I can find them?

Leave a Reply

