Pork Chops with Herb Gravy (and a partial kitchen tour)

Hello, lover [gravy]. I am clearly obsessed with anything gravy, and this is no exception. The sage adds a really nice “woodsy” quality to the sauce, but you might want to use a little at first and see how strong you like it. I served it up with mashed sweet potatoes and steamed and buttered green beans.

Pork Chops with Herb Gravy
Serves 4
Recipe by Just the Tip / Inspired by Rachael Ray

Here’s what I used:

  • 1 1/2 cups skim milk, divided
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat panko
  • 2 tbsp chopped flat-leaf parsley
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh sage
  • Four 1-inch-thick center-cut, boneless pork chops
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 1/2 cup fat-free half and half

Here’s what I did:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400°.
  2. In a shallow bowl, whisk 1/2 cup milk with the egg. In a dish, combine the panko with 1 tbsp each parsley and sage.
  3. Season the pork chops with salt and pepper on both sides.  Dip each pork chop in the egg mixture, then coat each chop in the panko mixture, shaking off any excess.
  4. In a large skillet, heat 1/4 cup olive oil over medium-high heat. Add the chops and cook, 3 to 4 minutes per side, until lightly browned. Transfer the pan to the oven and bake the chops until golden and just cooked through, about 5-10 minutes, until the pork is 145 degrees (will depend on thickness of your chops).
  5. When the pork reaches temperature, remove the pan from the oven, transfer the pork to a plate and cover with foil and allow to rest while you make the gravy.
  6. Heat the remaining 2 tbsp olive oil over medium heat. Whisk in the flour and cook for about a minute. Whisk in the remaining 1 cup of milk and the half and half.  Stir in the remaining 1 tbsp each parsley and sage and bring to a boil.  Simmer until thickened, about 2 minutes. Season with salt and pepper and serve with the chops.

Now, on to my kitchen. Here’s a random shot that i took right before I was about to start cooking the pork chops.

Note the requisite glass of wine, recipe tacked on the wall above my cutting board (I always have to print recipes — I can’t cook and read from a laptop screen!). Also, because my kitchen is so small (what you see is pretty much the only usable counter for preparing food), I have to stay pretty organized while I cook. I like to prep all of my food before I start so that as I’m trying to juggle main dishes and sides, it all is waiting for me. 🙂 While I love my apartment, I cannot wait to move so I can upgrade my cooking space!

Leave a Reply

