Gremolata Green Beans

This is my new favorite way to prepare green beans. I get a little overly excited about green beans sometimes, but they’re nearly my favorite vegetable since they’re so easy to make and seemingly so healthy. I say seemingly because while we were shopping this weekend, B asked me what the nutritional benefits of green beans were (perhaps to justify the huge 2-pound package I bought of them), and I actually had no idea. I of course came home and did some research. Turns out green beans are super good for you, and not just an easy veg dish. 🙂 Love when that happens.

Gremolata Green Beans
Serves 4

Here’s what I used:

  • 1 pound of green beans, stem-end trimmed
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped flat leaf parsley
  • 1 lemon
  • 2 large garlic cloves
  • salt and pepper

Here’s what I did:

  1. Bring a large pot of water to boil.  Salt the water and add the green beans. Cook them for 4-5 minutes until tender-crisp.
  2. While the green beans are cooking, prepare the sauce. In a medium bowl, melt the butter in the microwave. To the melted butter, zest in half of a lemon’s worth of zest, grate in the garlic, and add in the parsley, olive oil, salt and pepper.
  3. Drain the beans and toss around in the sauce to coat.
Tagged

Leave a Reply

