Open-Faced Egg Sandwich with Thyme Pesto and Lemon Cream

Brian and I have a new Friday night tradition: Breakfast for Dinner. Come Friday, we’re usually both so pooped and it’s a strained effort whenever we plan anything social. So, instead, we typically snug on the couch, watch Mad Men reruns, and eat amazing comfort food like this. If this makes us lame, I’m ok with it. 🙂

This meal is perfect after a long week. Not only is it delicious, much of it can be made in advance. I made the pesto earlier in the week (I made another batch after the first one I mentioned as it was a wee too garlicky. This one was delectable), and the lemon cream takes seconds to put together (although 30 minutes for the flavors to “mesh”), so it’s pretty much toasting bread and frying eggs. I can handle that, even after a long day/week.

What you see here are two variations of the dish. When I was making this, I was feeling a little iffy on the lemon cream and asked Brian if we should just use cheese instead. When he responded with, “so there’s no cheese at all??” paired with a sad face, we decided to do both. For one sandwich, we did a smear of the pesto, egg, and a sprinkling of 50% reduced fat cheddar, and for the other, we used the whole of this recipe. Turns out that the lemon cream is outstanding (tastes like a fabulous hollandaise sauce when combined with the pesto and egg) and is the clear winner here. Staying true to the original recipe, I used crème fraîche and preserved lemons to make the cream, but next time I will try to substitute with greek yogurt to lighten it up. I am lucky in that I have many specialty food shops around where I can find preserved lemons, but lemon zest and a little salt would create a similar effect if you can’t find it.

Open-Faced Egg Sandwich with Thyme Pesto and Lemon Cream
Makes 4 open-faced sandwiches
Inspired by Five and Spice

For the pesto:

Here’s what I used:

  • 1 cups baby spinach, stems removed
  • 1/4 cup fresh thyme leaves (remove the leaves from stems)
  • 1 small clove garlic, peeled and crushed
  • 1/4 cup toasted pine nuts
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper

Here’s what I did:

  1. Combine all the ingredients except olive oil in a food processor, and process until they are all chopped together.
  2. With the food processor running, stream in the olive oil and process until you have a thick consistency.
  3. Store in an air-tight container until you’re ready to use it.

For the lemon cream:

Here’s what I used:

  • 1/4 cup crème fraîche
  • 2 tsp minced preserved lemon
  • pinch salt

Here’s what I did:

  1. Mix ingredients together and let sit in the fridge for at least 30 minutes before using it.

For the sandwich:

Here’s what I used:

  • thyme pesto
  • lemon cream
  • 2 ciabatta rolls from Trader Joe’s, split in half
  • 4 eggs
  • non-stick cooking spray
  • salt, pepper

Here’s what I did:

  1. Make the pesto and the lemon cream.
  2. Toast the bread.
  3. Fry the eggs. Season with salt and pepper. Top with cheese if you like.
  4. Smear the bread with pesto.
  5. Add a dollop of the cream and top with the egg.
  6. Devour it.

Here’s a pic of the loser, which, to be fair, was also crazy delicious.

 

Tagged

5 thoughts on “Open-Faced Egg Sandwich with Thyme Pesto and Lemon Cream

  1. Babygirl says:

    I love how you made this sandwich. I’ve never tried pesto with eggs but it looks amazing

  2. Ok I made this last night and it was AWESOME! I used the plain Greek yogurt as you suggested (I can’t find creme fraiche here and I’m too lazy to make it) and lemon zest with a bit of juice for the preserved lemons. You’re right… the lemon cream was a bit scary at first taste, but after letting the flavors blend for a bit and in combination with the other components, it was delicious! Loved this. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

