Marinated Flank Steak with Blue Cheese Dressing

I love Costco. Many of my friends blatantly JUDGE me for hoarding and buying everything in bulk, but I don’t care. I like knowing I’ll have toilet paper through the apocalypse, and I always find fun treats there, like these yummy cashew clusters we picked up yesterday. Already addicted. Anyway, this recipe is neither here nor there, but I won a little war when we bought this flank steak at $4/pound at Costco, and had some in the freezer from Stop & Shop for $8/pound. Bam.

On to the steak. This recipe was found in Ellie Krieger’s new cookbook, So Easy, which I received as a Christmas gift. The steak was delicious, and while I was a little apprehensive that the blue cheese sauce would overwhelm the flavor of the meat (I tend to be a steak purist), I ended up really liking it together with the bed of radicchio. We served it with faux-fried onion rings from Now Eat This, which unfortunately, you won’t see posted here yet because I don’t think I seasoned them enough and they were a little bland.

Marinated Flank Steak with Blue Cheese Dressing
Serves 4
Recipe by Just the Tip / Inspired by Ellie Krieger

Here’s what I used:

  • 1 1/2 pounds lean flank steak
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 1/2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp brown sugar
  • 3 cloves garlic, grated
  • 2 tbsp crumbled blue cheese
  • 2 tbsp greek yogurt (I used 2%)
  • 2 tbsp half and half (or milk)
  • dash Worcestershire sauce
  • salt and pepper
  • 12 radicchio leaves
  • 2 tbsp fresh chopped parsley

Here’s what I did:

  1. Place the steak pieces between 2 pieces of plastic wrap or parchment and pound to 1/2-inch thickness.
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together 2 tbsp of the olive oil, balsamic vinegar, sugar and garlic. Put the steak into a sealable plastic bag with the marinade and refrigerate for an hour. Then let sit for another 30 minutes at room temperature.
  3. Meanwhile, mash the blue cheese, sour cream, and half and half  with a fork in a small bowl until creamy. Stir in the worcestershire and set aside.
  4. Preheat a large grill pan over medium-high heat (cast-iron will take a good 5 minutes to heat up).
  5. Remove the meat from the marinade and season both sides with salt and pepper. Cook the meat in the grill pan for 5 minutes per side for medium rare.
  6. Remove the steak to a cutting board, loosely tent with foil, and allow to rest for 10 minutes.
  7. Meanwhile, arrange 3 radicchio leaves on each plate. Once the steak has rested, thinly slice against the grain and top each plate with 1/4 of the steak.  Drizzle with blue cheese sauce and sprinkle with parsley.
Leave a Reply

