Croque Madames (quickened, definitely not lightened)

In a continuing effort to improve my photos, I took a little field trip to one of my favorite shops, Paper Source, to purchase some props. Behold one of the pieces of beautiful wrapping paper I purchased to use as a background. Despite my somewhat inexplicable lack of motivation in pretty much every area of my life right now, I have, somewhat miraculously, managed to construct a DIY light box, very much using Ashley’s model and other resources on the interwebs — something that’s been on my to-do list for many months.  I’m starting to see some improvements around these parts, which is a nice motivator. Who knew?

Oh, and the food. This sandwich is the freaking bomb. Make it, immediately.

Croque Madames
Serves 4
Inspired by Melissa d’Arabian

Here’s what I used:

  • 4 large slices of multi-grain baguette
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded Swiss
  • 2 tbsp white wine
  • 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 4 large slices good quality deli ham (I bought this, which was delicious)
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 4 eggs

Here’s what I did:

  1. Preheat the oven to 450.
  2. In a small bowl, toss the cheese with the white wine and allow to sit. In another small bowl, mix the sour cream with the garlic, mustard, salt, and pepper.
  3. Lay the bread out on a baking sheet that’s been lined with foil. Smear the bread with a thin layer of the sour cream mixture (use less than 1/4 of the mixture for all of the slices). Evenly distribute the ham on top of the bread, then divide the rest of the sour cream mixture over the ham. Sprinkle the cheese on top of the sour cream mixture.
  4. Place the baking sheet in the oven and bake for 5-6 minutes until the cheese has melted.
  5. Meanwhile, preheat a large nonstick saute pan over medium heat and melt the butter. Crack the eggs into the pan and fry, either over-easy or sunny-side up, to your liking. Season the eggs with salt and pepper.
  6. Place each sandwich on a plate. Place 1 egg on each sandwich.
     

Tagged

2 thoughts on “Croque Madames (quickened, definitely not lightened)

  1. Amanda says:

    Thanks for posting that link on a DIY light box. I made a make shift one (turned out it was too small), but it actually works pretty well!

    And I need that sandwich in my life. Stat.

Leave a Reply

