Penne alla Vodka with Shrimp

So here’s the thing about diets:

I suck at them.

I mean, no carbs, sugar, or alcohol for two whole weeks???

You know what I say to that?

Pasta with vodka cream sauce. That’s what I say.

Bam.

What? At least I used whole wheat pasta.

Penne alla Vodka with Shrimp
Serves 4-8, depending on rebellion level
Inspired by RayRay

Here’s what I used:

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp smart balance (or butter)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 shallots, minced
  • 1 cup vodka
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1 can crushed tomatoes (28 ounces)
  • kosher salt and pepper
  • 1 lb whole wheat penne
  • 1/3 cup heavy cream
  • 1 or 2 tbsp chopped parsley (basil would have been ideal)
  • 20 medium sized shrimp, deveined and tail removed

Here’s what I did:

  1. Heat a soup pot over medium heat. Add oil, butter, garlic, and shallots, and gently saute for 3 to 5 minutes. Add the vodka to the pan, then bring the heat up and reduce the vodka by half — about 3 minutes. Add chicken broth and tomatoes. Bring sauce to a bubble and reduce heat to simmer for about 30 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.
  2. While the sauce simmers, cook pasta in salted boiling water until cooked to package directions.  While pasta cooks, saute the shrimp (or any protein choice) in a little olive oil, seasoned with s&p.
  3. When the pasta is just about ready, stir the cream into the sauce. When the sauce returns to a bubble, remove it from heat. Drain pasta and toss it with sauce. Serve with chopped herbs, shrimp, and a little grated cheese.
Tagged

6 thoughts on “Penne alla Vodka with Shrimp

  1. Tricia says:

    My friend just asked me for some great recipes and I suggested your website. Be flattered.

    Also, I suck at diets too. Mostly b/c my fiance bought cadbury mini eggs as a “snack food” on his grocery shopping excursion today. WTF.

  2. Tricia says:

    PS-I would like this in my mouth sooner than later.

  3. abra says:

    you are super cute. this looks delicious.

  4. Leslie says:

    Hahahaha…I know this post is old but you are hilarious…I want to be foodie friends with you. I will be making this dish tonight! Thanks! :o)

Leave a Reply

