Butter-Basted Pan-Seared New York Strip

I don’t even know what to say about this recipe except that it is simply yummy. Try it next time you’re craving steak — you won’t be disappointed.

Butter-Basted Pan-Seared New York Strip
Serves 4
Recipe by Just the Tip / Inspired by Cooking Light

Here’s what I used:

  • 2 12-oz  new york strip steaks, brought to room temperate for at least 30 minutes
  • 2 cloves of garlic, smashed
  • 1 tsp minced fresh thyme, plus 3-4 sprigs
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • salt, pepper

Here’s what I did:

  1. Heat a cast-iron pan over high heat until almost smoking. Brush each side of steak with the olive oil, then season each side with salt, pepper, and minced thyme. Cook for 3-4 minutes on each side, or until browned and easily releases from the pan.
  2. Add the butter, garlic, and thyme sprigs to the pan. Tip the pan so that the butter pools to one end and continue to cook for another 1 1/2 minutes, basting continuously with butter.
  3. Remove and let rest on a plate covered in foil for 10 minutes. Spoon over the remaining butter sauce and serve.

Tagged

3 thoughts on “Butter-Basted Pan-Seared New York Strip

  1. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this
    post was great. I don’t know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already ;
    ) Cheers!

  2. […] My husband and I love watching the show, “Masterchef” and two nights ago, we watched an episode. If you are familiar with Masterchef, you will know what I’m talking about. At the end of the episode, there was the dreaded pressure test. The three contestants who did the worst at the morning’s challenge had to compete in the pressure test. They had to make steak that had to be medium-rare and frites (if I’m spelling that correctly). The worst one then had to go home. Yesterday, my husband and I were contemplating on what to make for dinner. My husband suggested wings and fries or steak. I picked steak. As I was butchering the steak to prep them for cooking, I thought to myself that I should try to make pan seared steak. So…to Pinterest I go! I love that website! Here is the link to the recipe: https://justthetipfood.wordpress.com/2011/04/17/butter-basted-pan-seared-new-york-strip/ […]

Leave a Reply

