Protein Packed Whole Wheat Banana Nut Muffins

Once in a great while, I see a recipe that makes me want to jump up, whip out my rolling pin, and get baking. This process usually ends in tears, but once in a while it works out lovely.  These muffins are SUPER healthy (once you take a peek at the ingredients you’ll see what I mean) and delicious. Smear them with a little yogurt butter and dig in!

Protein Packed Whole Wheat Banana Nut Muffins
Makes 12 muffins
Just the Tip / Inspired by Meals & Moves

Here’s what I used:

  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup vanilla protein powder (I use Isopure low-carb powder)
  • 1/2 cup almond meal (I get this at TJ’s, but you can make your own, too)
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 3 medium overripe mashed bananas
  • 1 cup 0% plain greek yogurt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup agave nectar
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 3-4 tbsp unsweetened almond milk
  • chopped pecans (optional)
  • slivered almonds (optional)

Here’s what I did:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375.
  2. Combine the flour, protein powder, almond meal, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt in a bowl and mix well.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine the bananas, yogurt, egg, agave, applesauce and vanilla extract.
  4. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix well. Add the almond milk until there the batter comes together.
  5. Spoon the batter into a muffin tin that has been sprayed with nonstick spray.  Top with nuts if you like and bake for 15-20 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean (mine were done in 15).
  6. Let cool for about 15 minutes in the tin, then for another few on a wire rack.
  7. Spread with some yogurt butter (Brummel & Brown) and enjoy!

Tagged

5 thoughts on “Protein Packed Whole Wheat Banana Nut Muffins

  1. janetha says:

    Glad you liked my muffin recipe 🙂

  2. No way! I love how you added protein powder to these! What a great way to pack in some protein!

    I love your blog! 😀

    • vanessa says:

      thanks! I’ve been throwing protein powder into random things lately…though I tried it with pancakes yesterday and, well, they landed in the trash. I’ll keep trying though 🙂

  3. Fantastic read, I just passed this onto a friend who was doing a little research on that. And he really bought me lunch because I discovered it for him smile So let me rephrase that: Thanks for lunch!

Leave a Reply

