Southwest Turkey Burgers

Since I had some extra ground turkey leftover from my indian pizza, I decided I would make some turkey burgers. I wanted to try something new other than my go to turkey burger recipe, and I had all of these ingredients in the house — big score after a long week.  These burgers were easy, super flavorful, and packed a nice bite.

Southwest Turkey Burgers
Just the Tip / Inspired by RR
Serves 4

Here’s what I used:

  • 8 slices bacon (I use nitrate-free, center-cut bacon)
  • 1 1/3 pounds ground turkey breast  (the average weight of 1 package)
  • 3 cloves garlic, grated
  • 1/4 red onion, finely chopped
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh thyme leaves
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley (or cilantro)
  • 1/2 small bell pepper (I used yellow), seeded and finely chopped
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and finely chopped
  • 2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp tabasco sauce
  • 2 tsp montreal steak seasoning
  • 4 slices of cheese (I used lite havarti — use whatever you like/have)
  • sandwich thins and baby spinach for serving

Here’s what I did:

  1. Chop all the veggies and put into a bowl with the turkey, cumin, grill seasoning, and tabasco. Mix well (but don’t over mix).
  2. In a grill pan (or frying pan) cook the bacon until crispy. Reserve for later. Keep the bacon fat in the pan and cook the burgers over medium-high heat for 6-7 minutes on each side. Let the cheese melt on the burgers for the last couple of minutes. Serve with bacon on top.
Tagged

One thought on “Southwest Turkey Burgers

  1. […] with Pasta Wednesday: Pasta leftovers and salads Thursday: Bethany and Marc are coming over! Southwest Turkey Burgers and Sweet Potato Oven Fries Friday: Leftovers  Doesn’t that look […]

Leave a Reply

