Shrimp Pizza with Pesto and Sun-Dried Tomatoes

Hey, friends — sorry for my little hiatus. I was lucky enough to get away to the Cape for an extra long weekend and have not been in the kitchen much. Cape Cod is seriously one of my favorite parts of living in Massachusetts, and I try to go as often as I can throughout the summer. Next time we go (probably in a few weeks), I promise to remember my camera to share some of the loveliness.

This pizza was pulled together using what random ingredients in the fridge that were waiting for us when we returned home. I’m not sure why we got such major(ly awesome!) air bubbles in the crust, but I love it when that happens. This pizza is somewhat of a go-to, since we always have pesto and cheese in the fridge and shrimp in the freezer. I dolloped some boursin cheese over the top for fun, and omgsoyummy. I used a store-bought dough (picked up a whole wheat dough at Hannaford’s that was actually made wholly of whole wheat and not a blend of whole wheat and white flour, which is actually pretty rare), which was delicious. You can also whip up your own dough if you’re feeling ambitious — I will share a recipe soon for my favorite whole whole wheat pizza dough.

Shrimp Pizza with Pesto and Sun-Dried Tomatoes

Here’s what I used:

  • 1 ball pizza dough
  • 3-4 tbsp pesto (I love the basil pesto from Trader Joe’s)
  • 3-4 sun-dried tomatoes, sliced
  • 1 pound shrimp, butterflied
  • 1/2 cup low-fat shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 4 oz light garlic & herb boursin cheese
  • salt
  • pepper

Here’s what I did:

  1. Preheat your pizza stone in the oven at 475.
  2. Roll out the dough (using extra flour if needed), and when the pizza stone is hot, carefully remove from the oven and transfer the dough to the stone.
  3. Smear the pesto over the dough until well coated, leaving about 1/2 inch around the edge for the crust.
  4. Add the shrimp in a single layer and season it with salt and pepper.
  5. Sprinkle on the mozzarella and drop teaspoonfuls of boursin over the pizza. Add the sundried tomates, and bake for 12-15 minutes until the crust is browned.
Tagged

Leave a Reply

