Tabouleh

I can’t believe this is my first time making tabouleh. I have been eating this parsley salad since I was a kid, and I loooove it with sliced red onion and baba ganoush all smooshed together in a pita. SO GOOD. This recipe is easy and authentic — and A LOT cheaper than buying it pre-made in a tub!

Tabouleh
Just the Tip / Gonna Want Seconds

Here’s what I used:

  • 2 1/2 bunches curly leaf parsely
  • 1/2 cup bulgur wheat
  • 2-3 plum tomatoes, finely chopped
  • 1/2 red onion, finely diced
  • 1 cup lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • pinch of cinnamon

Here’s what I did:

  1. Wrap the parsley loosely in a paper towel and refrigerate overnight.
  2. In a medium bowl, cover the bulgur with boiling water and let sit for a few hours. Drain any excess water.
  3. Trim the parsley leaves from the stems and add the leaves to a food processor and whiz it up until it’s a fine chop.
  4. In a large bowl, add all the ingredients, and season with salt and pepper. Refrigerate for a few hours, check for salt and pepper and re-season as necessary, and serve with pita, hummus, and baba. YUM!
Tagged

2 thoughts on “Tabouleh

  1. Cynthia Rider says:

    This is a variation of the tabouleh I’ve been making for years. I use less lemon juice and will try this version. In addition to the ingredients listed above, I add a little feta cheese. Not too much…just a taste.

Leave a Reply

