Spanikopita Triangles

I did something weird the other day. I actually used one of the groupons that I purchased.

This is big. I have a bad habit of snatching up these deals only to let them wither and expire. Last spring I bought 1 groupon for a cooking class at Eurostoves in Beverly, MA. Foolishly I only bought one, and taking a cooking class solo is just not very fun. Thankfully, I was able to convince my mom to sign up as well (at full price, nonetheless…). I think she thought it would be more like the classes we take each year at Stonewall Kitchen where you sit in a comfy seat and a nice lady cooks, whilst explaining her methods, and then nice people bring you a plate of food and some wine to go with while you learn. This was a liiiiitle different, in that 5 of us were given 12 greek recipes and 2 hours and were told to work it out. I gotta say, I love to cook, but I think i prefer the Stonewall way.

This is one of the recipes we “learned” at this class. I liked that the recipe called to take several layers of filo and stack them up, as opposed to brushing each individual piece with butter, which has always put filo dough in the ‘daunting’ category for me. These make a great appetizer — I made them on the bigger end…you can make them smaller if you have more patience 🙂

Spanikopita Triangles

Here’s what I used:

  • 1 10-oz box frozen chopped spinach
  • 2-3 scallions chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 4 oz low-fat cottage cheese
  • 8 oz feta, crumbled
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 pound filo dough (defrost overnight in refrigerator)

Here’s what I did:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350.
  2. Defrost the spinach in the microwave according to the package directions. Let cool, then wring out all the liquid with the spinach wrapped in a dish towel. Put spinach in a bowl and set aside.
  3. Heat 1 tbsp of butter in a small saute pan over medium heat. Cook the scallion and garlic until soft, 2-3 minutes. Add to the drained spinach, and when cooled, add the beaten egg, feta, and cottage cheese and mix thoroughly.
  4. Melt the stick of butter and combine with the canola oil and set aside.
  5. Lay a few sheets of filo on top of one another out on a cutting board. Brush generously with the butter/canola mixture.
  6. Slice into 2-inch (ish) strips and place a spoonful of the spinach mixture at the top.
  7. Fold the pastry over the spinach from the top right corner.
  8. Bring the point at the top over and down to form another layered triangle.
  9. Keep folding over and under…
  10. Until you’re at the end of the strip. Place on a prepared baking sheet, brush the exterior with butter, and bake for 35-40 minutes until browned (if you make them smaller, start checking them after 25 minutes).


    my mom cookin' 🙂


Tagged

One thought on “Spanikopita Triangles

  1. Sprinkles says:

    I believe I ate four of these that night….

Leave a Reply

