New England Lobster Rolls

I’m new to the world of lobster. Growing up, I never really cared for it, but now, I’m starting to see what all the fuss is about. I still don’t think I could ever cook a live lobster myself though — too brutal. I bought two lobsters at the grocery store and they kindly steamed them for me. It’s a little disheartening to learn that most of the meat on a lobster lives in only a couple of small places — the claws, knuckles, and, my favorite part, the tail. Go at those areas with a hammer or a nutcracker and get your money’s worth.

New England Lobster Rolls
Makes 4 rolls (serves 2)
Just the Tip / Inspired by Oui Chef

Here’s what I used:

  • 12 oz cooked lobster meat (from about 2 1-1/2 pound lobsters)
  • 2-3 tbsp light mayo
  • 1-2 tsp dijon mustard
  • 2 tbsp shallot, finely minced
  • 1 stalk celery, finely minced
  • kosher salt and fresh black pepper to taste
  • 1 cup loosely packed arugula
  • 4 “New England style” hot dog buns
  • 2 tbsp butter the buns
  • 2 cloves of garlic, smashed

Here’s what I did:

  1. In a large bowl, combine the mayo, mustard, shallots, celery, and lobster meat. Season with salt and pepper and refrigerate until you’re ready to make the rolls.
  2. Toss the butter and the smashed garlic cloves into a small saute pan and let the butter melt over medium-low heat. Once it’s nice and garlicky smelling (but the butter isn’t too browned), discard the the garlic and add the rolls to the pan. Brown on both sides, then fill the rolls with a little arugula and then the lobster mixture. Eat it!
Leave a Reply

