Grilled Pierogi with Kielbasa

Even though I am half Polish, I didn’t grow up eating a lot of Polish food. I don’t think I had a pierogi until a few years ago even. Why I have had a kielbasa and pierogi craving for the last couple of weeks is beyond me, but I’m glad I did because this recipe is delicious!

Grilled Pierogis with Kielbasa
Just the Tip / Inspired by Seasoned to Taste
Serves 4

Here’s what I used:

  • 1 pound kielbasa (I used nitrate-free turkey kielbasa from trader joe’s), cut into 4 pieces and butterflied
  • 2 tbsp whole-grain dijon mustard
  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 4 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil, divided
  • 1 medium onion, cut into wedges
  • 1 pound frozen potato-and-cheddar pierogi (do not thaw)
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1/4 cup roughly chopped fresh parsley

Here’s what I did:

  1. Preheat a grill to medium or light your charcoals. Butterfly the kielbasa pieces open so that both the inside and outside get charred. Grill the kielbasa, turning, until charred and split, 8 to 10 minutes. Transfer to a plate and set aside.
  2. Meanwhile, whisk the mustard and vinegar in a large bowl. Slowly whisk in 2 tbsp olive oil until smooth.
  3. In a large bowl, toss the onion and pierogies with the remaining 2 tbsp olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Grill, covered, until the pierogies thaw and are soft in middle and the onion begins to soften, about 5 minutes. Turn the pierogies and onion and continue to grill, covered, until the pierogies are cooked through and the onion is tender, about 5 more minutes.
  4. Add the kielbasa, pierogies and onion to the bowl with the mustard dressing. Season with salt and pepper and toss gently. Add the parsley and serve.

Tagged

3 thoughts on “Grilled Pierogi with Kielbasa

  1. Jackie says:

    I love your recipes! I’m not very blog-savvy, but is there a way to put a print link for just the recipe? If I print now I will get 7 pages because of the pictures. I know some other food blogs have that and it is very nice feature.

    Anyway, I’ll be trying this for sure, thank you!

    • vanessa says:

      Hi Jackie – thank you! I’m sorry, I haven’t been able to do a ‘print friendly’ link on my site yet, but you can enter the URL into http://www.print-friendly.com and it will let you choose what to print and what to leave out. You can also add a shortcut to your browser so that you can do it while you’re on the page you want to print. Hope this helps! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

