Sage-Scented Veal Burgers with Fontina and Honeyed Squash Rings

Ok, so, I’m a total hypocrite. I politely turned down some beautiful imported foie gras on Christmas Eve due to “philosophical objections”….meanwhile I had this veal burger on my menu plan for a week. I’m not exactly ‘pro-veal’, but I eat it a few times a year. Also, have I mentioned how much I love cows? I do. Life is hard. BUT, this burger is SO GOOD, and dare I say, worth the guilt. The acorn squash drizzled with honey was amazing on this burger, which tastes like a giant, tender meatball covered in cheese.
Sage-Scented Veal Burgers with Fontina and Honeyed Squash Rings
Serves 4
Just the Tip / Inspired by Rachael Ray’s Everyday Magazine

What I used:

  • 1 small acorn squash, peeled, seeded, and sliced thinly into 1/4″ rings
  • olive oil
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 10 sage leaves
  • 1/2 ground beef
  • 1 lb ground veal
  • 1 clove garlic, grated
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 6 slices fontina cheese
  • 4 crusty rolls
  • honey for drizzling
  • salt, pepper

What I did:

  1. Preheat oven to 425. Lightly coat (or spray) the squash slices with olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Roast until tender and browned at the edges, 22-25 minutes. Once tender, remove from oven and drizzle with a little honey. Reserve.
  2. Melt the butter over medium-high heat until it foams. Add the sage and fry until crisp, 1-2 minutes. Drain the sage on a paper towel and discard the butter.  Chop the sage once it is cool to the touch.
  3. In a large bowl, combine the ground veal, ground beef, sage, garlic, and parmesan cheese. Season with a good pinch of salt and pepper and form into patties.
  4. Heat a cast-iron pan over medium-high heat. Add the burgers and cook for 4 minutes, flip, top the burgers with a slice and a half of fontina and cook for another 4 minutes.
  5. Lightly toast the buns and place the cheeseburgers on the roll bottoms, top with the squash rings and set the roll tops in place.
Tagged

One thought on “Sage-Scented Veal Burgers with Fontina and Honeyed Squash Rings

  1. Amy says:

    Oh my, this looks and sounds amazing. I will definitely put this in my menu plan.

Leave a Reply

