Mini Apple Pies

Who doesn’t enjoy a mini pie? I whipped these up in about 20 minutes for a party and they were yummy! I of course used store bought crust because, let’s face it, I avoid baking at all costs and I certainly don’t do crust. As far as apple pie goes, this is a pretty standard variety — which was exactly what I was craving.

Mini Apple Pies
Makes 12 mini pies
Just the Tip / Recipe from Little Bit Funky

Print Friendly and PDF

What I used:

  • 4 cups apples (about 4 apples), peeled, cored, and cubed into 1/2″ pieces
  • 6 tbsp flour (I used white whole wheat since that’s all I keep in the house)
  • 3/4 cup raw cane sugar
  • 2 heaping tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 2-3 pillsbury pie crusts (I used 3 which made the crusts easier to to cut out, but it could also be done with 2 in a pinch)
  • 2 tbsp chilled butter cut into 12 equal pieces
  • 1 tbsp butter, melted

What I did:

  1. Preheat oven to 400.
  2. In a large bowl, toss the apples with the sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and flour.
  3. Using a 3.5-4″ biscuit cutter (or a large-ish lid of some sort), cut out 12 circles from your pie crust. Arrange the circles in the cups of a muffin tin. Reserve the scraps.
  4. Spoon the apple mixture into the muffin tins until slightly mounded. Add a piece of butter on top of each pie, and then top with the reserved scraps of dough and seal the pies as well as you can.
  5. Brush with the melted butter and bake for about 20 minutes until lightly golden. Let cool and remove from the tins.
Tagged

17 thoughts on “Mini Apple Pies

  1. marsha says:

    Just the right size for the 2 of us. Apple is my husbands favorite and I know he will enjoy these.

  2. I printed Mini Apple Pies. Much to my surprise SEVEN pages were needed. When I hit print, I only want to print the receipe not your ads or your blog comments. You need to streamline this a bit. Color ink is too expensive to waste. Also, you might make your example picture smaller and fit everyhing on one page.

  3. Lynn Klock says:

    I love this idea BUT I think a crumb topping would be more appealing than the crust topping. Otherwise a great idea and one can use their own filling recipes or store bought apple pie filling.

  4. Sue Tucker says:

    I agree with Kathy Wilson, we don’t need all the other ads and blogs, I too printed out 8 pages and 1 was the recipe and directions. I go on your site all the time and get wonderful recipes, but please narrow the pages down…

  5. Nancy says:

    Vanessa,
    Thank you for the Printfriendly.com site info. It works great. I also tried your Mini Apple Pies and my family went crazy over them! Thanks again for the recipe as well as the printer tips. You are the tops!

  6. Susan Clevinger says:

    They look so good I think I will try to make them, wish me luck

  7. Versie Gouty says:

    Enjoyed studying this, very good stuff, appreciate it.

  8. Source says:

    Thanks a ton for taking a few minutes to line this all out for people. This write-up ended up being quite helpful if you ask me.

  9. You should take part in a contest for one of the best blogs on the web. I will recommend this site!

Leave a Reply

