Massaged Lacinato Kale Salad

I am OBSESSED with this salad. Obsessed. To be fair, I love kale, but I’m convinced someone not familiar with kale would love this too. This is the first time I’ve ever tried kale raw, and now I would like to eat a gallon of this salad every day. Dressed simply with a lemon and garlic dressing, this salad is a perfect side dish for summer as it requires virtually zero cooking.
Massaged Lacinato Kale Salad
Serves 4 / 3 ww pts+
Inspired by Marin Mama Cooks

What I used:

  • 1 head kale (I used organic lacinato kale), stripped from their ribs and cut into strips/ribbons
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 large or 2 small garlic cloves, grated or minced
  • 2-3 tbsp shredded parmigiano reggiano cheese
  • salt, pepper, red pepper flakes to taste

What I did:

  1. Grate the garlic and squeeze the lemon into a medium bowl. Whisk in the olive oil and season with salt, pepper, and a fat pinch of red pepper flakes. Taste and re-season if necessary.
  2. Add the sliced kale to a serving dish and pour the dressing over top. With your hands, massage the kale for a couple of minutes until slightly tenderized. Add in the parmesan cheese and serve!

 

4 thoughts on “Massaged Lacinato Kale Salad

  1. dvlwearsparsley says:

    This looks fantastic!!! I have yet to have a salad comprised of only kale and no other greens, but I do love me some kale! The flavor combos with garlic lemon and parm sounds absolutely divine!

  2. stef says:

    yes. i am doing this.

Leave a Reply

