Black Bean and Quinoa Burgers

I realized yesterday that all of the meals I planned for this week were vegetarian – totally unintentionally. Well, not 100% unintentional, I suppose. I have been trying to eat less meat, especially since poultry has begun to ick me out. I even briefly considered doing a full-on 2-week vegan experiment for kicks, but, alas, cheese won out in that debate. My real goal for this week’s meal plan (a process on which I intend to do a separate post) was to cut the grocery budget a bit, and cutting meat is the best way to do that.

This black bean and quinoa burger appealed to me as soon as I saw it in its reincarnated form as quesadillas on foodgawker. I love the idea of “round 2” recipes, especially since I have less and less desire to spend an hour in the kitchen at the end of a long day.

We both really enjoyed the burgers, but since I didn’t change much about the recipe, I hesitate to post it here. BUT, then I remembered the original purpose of this blog for me – to document recipes that I would like to make again. These burgers definitely fit in that category. We served them on toasted english muffins (probably my favorite sandwich vehicle) with some cilantro-lime mayonnaise, lettuce, and tomato. Avocado and sriracha would have been nice additions too.

Black Bean and Quinoa Burgers
Inspired by Bake Your Day
Makes 6 burgers / 5 ww pts+

What I used:

  • 1/2 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 1 cup veggie stock
  • 3 tsp. olive oil, divided
  • 2 carrots, peeled and finely diced
  • 2 shallots, minced
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne
  • 1/4 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 15-oz can black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 3 tbsp reduced sugar ketchup (I like Trader Joe’s Organic Ketchup)
  • 1 tsp soy sauce
  • 2 tsp sriracha
  • 1/2 – 1 cup panko breadcrumbs
  • 1 egg white

for serving:

  • english muffins/buns
  • lettuce, tomato, avocado, etc.
  • mayonnaise
  • cheese

What I did:

  1. Mix the spices (paprika through black pepper) in small bowl and set aside.
  2. Heat 1 tsp olive oil in a medium-sized skillet over medium heat.  Cook the carrot and shallot for 5-6 minutes, stirring often. Add some stock to the pan if it gets too dry. Add the garlic and saute for another couple of minutes and remove from heat.
  3. Transfer the contents of the pan to a food processor. Add the beans and the spice mixture and pulse a few times until the mixture is cohesive. Don’t puree.  You could also do this with a masher or a couple of forks if you don’t have a food processor.
  4. Transfer the contents of the food processor to a large mixing bowl. Add the ketchup, soy sauce, egg white, panko, and sriracha and combine. Make 6 patties using a heaping 1/3 cup measuring cup. Refrigerate for at least 20 minutes up to a two days ahead.
  5. When ready to serve, heat the remaining 2 tsp olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Brown the burgers for 4 minutes per side and serve.
Leave a Reply

