Grilled Rosemary Shrimp over Zucchini Noodles Aglio Olio

So at this point I am feeling a little bad for people who read this blog and don’t care for zucchini. But, given all of the deliciousness over here lately, I”m sorry I’m not sorrier

This dish is julienned zucchini which is cooked in an aglio olio sauce made of garlic, parsley, anchovies, and olive oil. To die. I’m a huge fan of anchovies, but if the furry little fishies bug you, you can leave them out. I guess. Don’t do that though – you’ll regret it!

Anyway, you use a mandoline or a julienne peeler to make the zucchini ‘noodles’, and then briefly saute them in the aglio olio. I found that I really only sliced the 4 sides of the zucchini as it got too seedy in the middle. Smaller zucchini that naturally have fewer seeds is your friend in this recipe. Over top, there are grilled shrimp that were marinated in rosemary and garlic. These are SO GOOD, so good that I may have eaten a leftover shrimp or two before 8 this morning. YUM.

Grilled Rosemary Shrimp over Zucchini Noodles Aglio Olio
Just the Tip / Rosemary Shrimp inspired by Gourmet, Aglio Olio inspired by Rachael Ray
Serves 3

For the zucchini noodles:

What I used:

  • 8 small zucchini (I peeled about half of them, mostly for aesthetic reasons), julienned into long strips
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 5-6 small anchovy filets (about 1 oz.)
  • 2 tbsp minced fresh parsley
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • salt, pepper

What I did:

  1. In a large saute pan, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Grate in the garlic, and add the anchovy filets and crushed red pepper. Allow the anchovy filets to melt into the oil, making sure to stir so the garlic won’t burn. Let cook for 3-4 minutes until very fragrant.
  2. Raise the temp to medium-high and add the zucchini noodles and saute until the zucchini is tender, about 5 minutes. Season with salt, pepper, and parsley.

For the shrimp:

What I used:

  • 18 large shrimp, de-veined and de-tailed
  • 2 tbsp fresh minced rosemary (or 2 tsp dried)
  • 4 cloves garlic, chopped or grated
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • salt, pepper

What I did:

  1. Combine olive oil, garlic and rosemary in a medium bowl. Add the shrimp, season with salt and pepper, and marinate for 4 hours or overnight (I did overnight).
  2. Skewer the shrimp and grill 3-4 minutes per side. Serve atop zucchini noodles.
2 thoughts on “Grilled Rosemary Shrimp over Zucchini Noodles Aglio Olio

  1. andylmoore says:

    A delicious way of using zucchini

  2. gold account says:

    I am getting hungry, this looks so delicious! :-)Would you believe that I owned a julienne peeler and never used it, not knowing that it was supposed to be? Only a few weeks ago did I discover that I could make zucchini julienne with it! I added the julianne to spaghetti with shrimp, the olive oil dressing flavored with thin strips of lemon peel, garlic and fresh basil.

Leave a Reply

