Giardiniera Pot Roast (slow-cooker)

This might be the best thing I’ve tried in the slow-cooker to date. It’s no secret that I’m not a huge fan of the slow-cooker (it’s a mushy texture thing), but I have found that if you take the time to sear meat before you braise it (i.e. toss it in the crockpot with some liquid), it does a lot for the final product.

This meal was a bit serendipitous as it served a few purposes. I’ve been pinning a ton of slow-cooker recipes lately as we are moving AGAIN  and I will be staring down the barrel of a 2-hour round-trip commute starting in a couple of weeks. I have a feeling my slow-cooker is about to get real popular ’round here.  Also, because of the impending move, I am REALLY trying to use up some of my pantry items that I a) haven’t used since the last time I moved or b) have hoarded since the last move a year ago and don’t want to move now. I found a dusty jar of giardiniera (italian pickled vegetables) that I needed to just finally use or lose. I’m so glad I did. This recipe was the bomb, and I am more than pissed that I didn’t get a pic of the resulting tender roast that we served atop fluffy mashed potatoes and smothered in a homemade beef gravy. YUM. Make this.

Giardiniera Pot Roast (slow-cooker)
Just the Tip / Inspired by Proud Italian Cook

What I used:

  • rump roast or a top round (just choose a size that fits in your slow-cooker!)
  • 4-5 cloves garlic
  • kosher salt, black pepper, dried oregano
  • 1 jar giardiniera, dusted
  • 14 oz can reduced sodium beef broth
  • frozen pearl onions
  • olive oil

What I did:

  1. Bring the meat to room temperature for about 1/2 hour before you’re ready to start cooking.
  2. Add the pearl onions to the bottom of your slow cooker.
  3. In a large dutch oven (or other heavy pot), heat a couple of tbsp of olive oil over medium-high/high heat. Dry the roast with paper towels and cut slits in the meat and stud with peeled garlic cloves all over. Season generously with salt, pepper, and a little dried oregano. Once the oil is nearly smoking, add the roast to the dutch oven and allow to brown for a good 5-8 minutes on the first side, then allow to brown on all the other sides. Transfer the roast from the dutch oven to the slow cooker, on top of the pearl onions.
  4. Deglaze the dutch oven by pouring the beef broth by pouring the beef broth into the dutch oven and scraping the bottom of the pan to release the flavorful brown bits from the meat. Let reduce for a few minutes and then pour on top of the roast in the slow-cooker. Make sure not to submerge in liquid completely – it should be about up to it’s “shoulders”.
  5. Add the giardiniera on top, cover, and cook over LOW for 8-10 hours until very tender. Mine took about 10 hours – you’ll know when it’s done when you can easily stick it with a fork and the fork sinks in.
  6. When you’re ready to serve, I highly recommend mashed potatoes and thickening up the broth with a little roux (a little flour cooked in butter as a thickening agent) and serving it as a gravy. It would also be delicious as is over the beef.
8 thoughts on “Giardiniera Pot Roast (slow-cooker)

  1. Sonia says:

    YUM! I made something similar to this a few weeks ago but will try your recipe next time as I love those pickled veggies but why the plastic bag??

  2. drea says:

    When you say one jar of gardinera dusted what does that mean? Do you drain the liquid before pouring on top? Im making this tonight for dinner and really looking forward to it.

    • vanessa says:

      Haha, the dusted part was just a joke because I mentioned I found a dusty jar of giardiniera in my pantry! Just dump the whole bottle in – no need to drain it. Hope you enjoy it!

      • drea says:

        Omg, this pot roast was delicious. I used a chuck pot roast because I forgot the recipe when shopping and the meat was too big for the small crockpot I have so I ended up cutting it into big chunks but luckily it worked out. Yum. Thanks for the awesome fall football dinner.

      • vanessa says:

        Glad you liked it as much as I did!

  3. Bob Klein says:

    do you recommend hot or mild giardiniera

Leave a Reply

