Thai Butternut Soup

IMG_4366 I whipped this soup up in about 15-20 minutes and it has so. much. flavor. The original recipe (cooking light) called for red curry paste, but I since I have a big tub of a green curry paste in the fridge that I love, I used that instead – use whatever you like.

Another note about the curry paste. I have to insist that it really is worth seeking out an asian market for some authentic stuff. That little jar of thai kitchen curry paste isn’t doing you any favors in the flavor department. I really love the tub of curry I found at my local Super 88 which is Maesri brand, but I’ve also heard that Mae Ploy is really good too.

Thai Butternut Soup
Just the Tip / Inspired by Cooking Light
Serves 4

What I used:

  • 2 tsp grapeseed oil (or canola oil)
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 tsp minced fresh ginger
  • 1 tbsp curry paste (I used green)
  • salt to taste
  • 1 cup chicken or veg broth
  • 1 14-oz can light coconut milk
  • 2 tsp fish sauce (can omit for vegetarian option)
  • 1 tsp splenda brown sugar (or 2 tsp regular brown sugar)
  • 2 12-oz boxes of frozen squash puree (defrosted)
  • 1/2 cup chopped unsalted roasted peanuts
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • juice from 1 lime

What I did:

  1. Heat the oil in a large pot over medium-high heat. Add the onions, season with a little salt, and cook for 5 minutes. Add the garlic, ginger, and curry paste and stir and cook through for another minute or two.
  2. Add in the chicken broth, coconut milk, fish sauce, brown sugar, and squash. Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer for 5 more minutes.
  3. Either blend the soup with an immersion blender (love mine) or transfer to a blender in batches and puree. Season with salt to taste and serve with a couple tbsp of peanuts, cilantro, and lime juice.

IMG_4369

Tagged

Leave a Reply

