Favorite Taco Meat

My Favorite Taco Meat - Just the TipWhen I put tacos on the menu this week, I went to the blog to search for the recipe to remind myself of what I needed to pick up at the store. I’ve been making this same taco meat recipe for a while now, I can’t believe I haven’t posted it here yet.

This is a very straight-forward and classic tasting taco meat recipe, but it’s made a lot healthier by sneaking in a ton of fresh veggies and it using fresh spices instead of those sketchy seasoning packets. Try it!

Favorite Taco Meat
Just the Tip / Inspired by Lauren’s Latest
Serves 4 (sometimes I’ll double the recipe and save the extra topping for taco salad or taco pizza)

What I used:

  • 2 tbsp taco seasoning (I make a batch of Alton’s recipe, which I can get 3 uses out of for this recipe)
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 small red (or green) bell pepper, diced
  • 1 cup diced carrot
  • 1 cup diced zucchini
  • 8-10 oz 93% lean ground turkey
  • 1/2 cup water

What I did:

  1. In a large, high-sided skillet, heat the olive oil over medium-high heat. Add in the onions, carrot, zucchini, and bell pepper, and season with salt and pepper. Saute for 8-10 minutes until soft.
  2. Stir in the ground turkey, breaking up with a wooden spoon. Once the turkey is cooked through (no more pink), stir in the 2 tbsp taco seasoning and the 1/2 cup water. Mix together and let the water evaporate and the sauce thicken for a few minutes. Serve with all of your favorite taco fixins.

My Favorite Taco Meat - Just the Tip

 

Leave a Reply

