Oven Dogs

I have a soft spot for hot dogs.

And melted cheese (obvs).

Then you introduce chili and lots of fun condiments.

Then a snowstorm hits and suddenly this is the most perfect food ever.

B and I had fun making these together. Next time I might ease up on the relish (a little too sweet for me) and add more mustard and some spicy stuff (jalapenos? yes. ).

Oven Dogs
Inspired by In the Wabe

Here’s what I used:

  • mayo
  • turkey chili (cold, straight from the can)@ trader joe’s (or TJ’s vegetarian chili)
  • relish
  • mustard
  • shredded cheese (not pictured)
  • onion
  • hot dogs
  • hot dog buns (new england style, please :))

Here’s what I did:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 and line a baking dish with tin foil.
  2. Spread some mayo on the buns.
  3. Squirt on some relish.
  4. Line the dogs up in the buns.
  5. Squirt on some yellow (or other) mustard.
  6. Spoon some chili on top.
  7. Sprinkle with chopped onion.
  8. And then with some cheese.
  9. Cover with tin foil and bake for 45 minutes.
  10. Eat it, fork & knife style.

    not pretty, but delicious nonetheless

Tagged

4 thoughts on “Oven Dogs

  1. Tricia says:

    yummmmmmm

  2. Courtney says:

    This makes me not hate hotdogs. Now, where’s the next snowstorm?

  3. I made these for my family for the first time a few months ago and have made them several times since then. I have 4 kids (my youngest is 5 months) the oldest three and my husband loved these. Thank you so much for sharing your instructions. I am sharing your address with a link from my blog. 🙂

Leave a comment