Biscuit & Egg Cups

I’ve been sick for almost a full week, so I needed some comfort food this weekend. These biscuits were easy, yummy, and naughty, which are all good things for me right about now.

Biscuit & Egg Cups
Recipe by Just the Tip / Inspired by The Family Kitchen

Here’s what I used:

  • 1 tube refrigerated biscuit dough (I like the kind from Trader Joe’s)
  • 8 eggs
  • 1/2 cup Hormel real bacon bits
  • 1/2 cup 50% reduced fat shredded cheddar cheese
  • diced scallions
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • hot sauce

Here’s what I did:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400. Lightly spray a muffin tin with nonstick cooking spray.
  2. Flatten and slightly stretch each biscuit so it’s large enough to be pressed into the muffin tin.  Make sure to press the biscuit all the way up the sides of each muffin cup so that there’s room for the egg without spillage.
  3. Crack an egg into each biscuit and sprinkle with salt and pepper

    See how pretty and golden the eggs on the bottom are? They’re Land O’ Lakes eggs — the yolks are way better, at least in color, than other brands out there…
  4. Sprinkle on the cheddar.
  5. Then the bacon…
  6. And scallions…
  7. Sprinkle on a little hot sauce, to taste, and bake for 18-20 minutes. Start checking it at the 13-15 minute mark, as I think my oven might be a bit off.  When the whites are set, you’re good.
1 tube Texas-style refrigerated biscuit dough (the big ‘uns)
8 eggs
1/2 cup real bacon bits
1/2 cup sharp cheddar cheese, grated
diced scallions
salt & pepper to taste
Lightly spray a standard-sized muffin tin with nonstick cooking spray.   Open the tube o biscuit dough, and press one biscuit round into the muffin tin.  To make sure there is room for the eggs, make sure you make a deep well in your dough by pressing the biscuit all the way up the sides of each muffin cup (see photo below).  Crack an egg into each biscuit, top with bacon bits, cheddar, and scallions.  Sprinkle generously with salt and pepper.  Bake in an oven preheated to 400 degress for 13-15 minutes.  To ensure the center of your egg stays soft-cooked, remove the biscuits from the oven as soon as the edges begin to turn golden brown.  Enjoy!
Tagged

25 thoughts on “Biscuit & Egg Cups

  1. Dallas says:

    That looks awesome, We will have that on xmass morning…From Dad..

  2. these look amazingly delicious! i’m gonna have to try these!

  3. Tricia says:

    The last pic looks kinda “dirty” if you know what I mean. 😉 Otherwise, anything that includes a biscuit=yummmm!

  4. rsmacaalay says:

    Wow! That look really good! and whats good its easy to make. This might be my breakfast tomorrow

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

  5. ccwagner says:

    I am totally going to have to try out this recipe! I see a cold weekend breakfast coming up soon! Yum!

  6. I’m always looking for new breakfast ideas! I’ll definitely be trying this one out this weekend!

  7. TheZomBlog says:

    These look AMAZING! Thank you for sharing and thank you for putting up pictures! I can’t wait to try these this weekend!

  8. Monica says:

    okay, this lookd like great comfort food!!

    monica

    http://www.spicediary.com

  9. Wow! Looks yummy in the extreme. I will try this when the kids are home from college in two weeks…I might have to practice once before that. He he

  10. Mother Michelina says:

    I found your blog via foodpress and I fell in love with this recipe, I am def gonna be making this soon. I love eggs to. love love love

  11. Wow – I have never seen this and it’s such an interesting idea! I love a good strata/egg casserole, myself. These look even cooler. I must try them soon! Thanks.

  12. joe says:

    I’ve been looking for this recipe for several years. My mother used to make these for my brothers & i before going to school back in the 70s. great post!

  13. victoria says:

    I am definitely going to try this out with cornbread. I came across a muffin like this at SF Farmer’s Market, and had a hard time finding a recipe for it. I just needed to know how long to bake and at what temp. Thanks for posting this~!

  14. […] that bring out the pleasure-filled ooohs and ahhhhs. How could one resist such creations as the Biscuit and Egg Cups where raw egg, along with bacon bits, scallions, and cheese, is baked in with the biscuit dough so […]

  15. Lydia Paulger says:

    I have been making this once a week for about 1 month now! Husband and 2 kids totally in love with your Bfast! Tx!

  16. GeeksAndTweaks says:

    My girlfriend just linked me to this article after I sent her pics of my first feeble attempt at making it. She suggests using a piece of buttered toast in place of the dough. I’ll be trying it that way next time.

Leave a comment