Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Cranberry Pistachio Pesto

This recipe is why I quit weight watchers. After one day. I had been looking forward to making this dish for about a week, wherein I foolishly joined that fat-hating regime.  One serving of this dish, which is decidedly wholesome, would be half of my daily allotted food because of the [healthy] fat found in the nuts and olive oil. Funk that. I just can’t give up real food and replace it with food-like-substances like fat-free cheese, so I quit. And this was delicious!

Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Cranberry Pistachio Pesto
Serves 4
Recipe by Just the Tip / Inspired by Steamy Kitchen

Here’s what I used:

For the Pesto:

  • 1/4 cup toasted pistachios
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries
  • 1-2 cloves roasted garlic
  • 2-3 tbsp roughly chopped parsley
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • salt and pepper

For the brussels:

  • 1 pound brussels sprouts
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup cranberry pistachio pesto
  • salt and pepper

Here’s what I did:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400.
  2. To make the pesto, whiz the pistachios, cranberries, roasted garlic, and parsley into a food processor until everything is very finely chopped. With the food processor running, slowly stream in the olive oil until the mixture is a smooth paste. Season with salt and pepper to taste.
  3. Cut off the stem end of the brussels and discard any loose outer leaves. Cut the brussels in half, toss with olive oil, and season lightly with salt and pepper. Arrange the brussels in a single layer on a baking sheet and roast for 25 minutes. When the brussels are tender, remove from the oven and spoon the pesto over top.
Tagged

2 thoughts on “Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Cranberry Pistachio Pesto

  1. Missy says:

    Hi there! I love this recipe too, and I just wanted to share this little discovery I just made: I wanted to cut the fat and calories down, so I used just 1/4 cup of the oil and thinned it with 1/4 cup (maybe more) of fresh lemon juice. I have to tell you: it was even better. Zingy and bright and fresh! Good for you re: WW, btw. Eating real food is totally the way to go, always. Cheers!

Leave a comment