Slow-Cooker Steel Cut Oats

When i read about cooking oats overnight in a slow cooker, I was psyched. I love a hearty bowl of oats in the morning during the colder months, but I would rather spend a spare 30 minutes sleeping rather than cooking oats. Sue me.

I used to frequent those little individual packets of plain oatmeal, until I read about how many nutrients are lost the more oats are processed. Steel cut oats are barely processed, are a great source of fiber and protein, and are really worth the extra effort. Cooking them in a slow-cooker removes a little bit of the *oaty* flavor, but it’s still a nice way to shave a few minutes off of morning cooking time.

I love to eat them with a sprinkle of toasted wheat germ, sliced bananas, and some natural peanut butter.

Slow-Cooker Steel Cut Oats
Recipe by Just the Tip / Inspired by Shelteriffic

Here’s what I used:

  • 1 cup steel cut oats
  • 4 cups water
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • pinch salt
  • pinch cinnamon

Here’s what I did:

  1. Put all ingredients in the slow cooker and cook on low for 8-9 hours. Done.
Leave a Reply

