Sausage and Harissa Pinwheels

It’s clean out the cupboard time, folks. After almost 7 years in the same apartment, we’re getting set to move in just about 4 weeks. It is in times like these that my food obsession/hoarding really comes to light, and not in a cute way. More like a how-the-hell-am-i-going-to-pack-all-of-this-stuff way. For example, I’ve had an unopened tube of harissa in my pantry for, oh, about 4 years, just waiting for that delicious tagine or some other Moroccan feast worthy of breaking it out for. I tend to pick up random food stuffs for “special” meals or dishes, all the while semi-afraid to use them because then they’ll be gone! The horror, really, the stuff is 2 bucks on amazon… What this leaves me with, of course, is an overstuffed pantry full of too-specific items that will, in fact, never get used. I also had a package of puff pastry in the freezer “just in case”. And obviously tons of italian sausages — I mean, everyone buys 8 pounds at a time at Costco, right?

Anyway, a simple google search for “what the hell do i do with these random ingredients” and I was on my way to one of the yummiest appetizers ever.

Step 1: Lay out the puff pastry (no rolling required, hallelujah) and sprinkle the sausage and parsley over top.

Step 2: Brush on some harissa with a pastry brush. Roll it up (or have your brother do it for you — thanks, Marco!)

Step 3: Cut the roll in half, then each part in half again until you have 16 pinwheels.

Step 3: Bake for 20 minutes and prepare for these to fly off the plate within minutes of serving. Yummmmm.

I wasn’t sure if the harissa would be too spicy for people (it packs a nice kick), so I did one with just sausage and shredded provolone, too.

Sausage and Harissa Pinwheels
Makes 16
Just the Tip / Recipe inspired by The Bitten Word

Here’s what I used:

  • 1 sheet puff pastry, thawed
  • 1/3 lb italian sausage removed from their cases
  • 2 tbsp chopped parsley
  • 2 tbsp harissa sauce

Here’s what I did:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400. Lay out the puff pastry and sprinkle with sausage and parsley. Brush on the harissa with a pastry brush.
  2. Slice in half (I find a serrated knife particularly helpful here), then in half again until you wind up with 16 slices.
  3. Place on a prepared baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes. Done.
Tagged

Leave a Reply

