Broccoli, Ham, and Cheese Breakfast Casserole

Broccoli, Ham, and Cheese Breakfast Casserole - Just the Tip food blogPortability. This is the exact thing I need during a busy workweek to keep me from hitting the dreaded drive-thru on my hour+ commute to work. Something I can grab on my way out the door and know that when I finally reach my office, I can zap a piece of this casserole and enjoy a legitimate breakfast on the fly. This casserole is perfect for this – AND, it’s low-carb and only about 250 calories per serving. I’ve made it twice in as many weeks an I can see it as a regular in our menu plan. Eggs, cubed ham steak, broccoli, cheese – easy peasy. Make a big dish of this on Sunday, cut into 8 squares, and you’ve got breakfast for you and your mate for 80% of the workweek. I might get drive-thru crap on the 5th day when we run out, but that’s harm reduction at its best. Right?

Broccoli, Ham, and Cheese Breakfast Casserole
Serves 8Just the Tip / Recipe from Kalyn’s Kitchen

What I used:

  • 8 cups small broccoli florets
  • 1 lb diced ham steak (I buy 3-packs at Costco and freeze what I don’t need)
  • 1 cup reduced-fat shredded cheddar
  • 1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 bunch sliced scallion (about 1 cup)
  • 12 eggs
  • hot sauce (I used chalula)
  • salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • low-fat sour cream or greek yogurt for serving

What I did:

  1. Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Preheat oven to 375. Spray a 9×12 baking dish with cooking spray.
  2. Cut broccoli into very small florets and drop in salted, boiling water and cook for 2 minutes. Drain well.
  3. Lay the blanched broccoli along the bottom of the baking dish. Season the broccoli with salt and pepper.
    blanched broccoli
  4. Scatter the ham, scallions, and cheddar and parmesan on top of the broccoli.
    IMG_4438
  5. In a large bowl, crack and beat the eggs well. Season with salt, pepper, and hot sauce. Evenly pour the beaten eggs over the broccoli mixture and poke with a spatula to make sure the egg is well incorporated.
  6. Bake for 40-45 minutes until the eggs are no longer liquid.

IMG_4449

IMG_4446

Tagged

Leave a Reply

