Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Part of the reason baking has always seemed so daunting to me is all of the directions. Keeping dry away from wet, sifting, making butter and flour look like “peas”, etc. It’s all so exhausting. What is most difficult for me is actually remembering to use all of the ingredients you’re supposed to use. This has happened on more than one occasion. This here blueberry zucchini bread was baked twice this week in my household, because the first time I completely forgot to add the sugar. Now, because it was still delicious without the added sugar (just a little tart, but still yummy), I could have totally just played it off as a south beach friendly baked good. Before I go messing with recipes, I like to make them as intended first, so I can taste what I like and dislike about it. Enter loaf #2. Also, delicious, not overly sweet, but definitely sweeter than the original. Verdict: I liked #2 better. Either way, you won’t go wrong with using berries and squash fresh from the farm.

Blueberry Zucchini Bread
Makes 1 loaf (double ingredients if you plan on making mistakes like me :))
Recipe by Just the Tip / Inspired by Closet Cooking

Here’s what I used:

  • 1 1/2 cups zucchini (grated, squeezed and drained…about 1/2 large zucchini for me)
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar (I used Splenda brown sugar blend in loaf #2)
  • 1/4 cup oil (canola or olive oil)
  • 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt (I used light)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 1/2 cup pecans, chopped

Here’s what I did:

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Mix the zucchini, sugar, oil, yogurt and egg in a bowl.
  3. Mix the flours, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cinnamon in a bowl.
  4. Add the dry ingredients to the wet.
  5. Add in the blueberries and pecans.
  6. Pour the batter into a greased 9×5 inch loaf pan and bake until a toothpick pushed into the center comes out clean, about 60 minutes.

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Zucchini Bread

  1. Jacob says:

    Holt loves the leftovers!

  2. vanessa says:

    yay! you guys got the loaf WITH the sugar, fyi 🙂

Leave a Reply

