Avocado and Sardine Toasts

This is SO up my alley. I adore fat and this is chock-full of healthy and delicious fat. Yesterday, hypnotized by Jennifer Hudson’s airbrushing weight loss ads, I paid for a 3-month membership to a diet plan that hates fat. I am of course regretting this, so now I rebel.  Diet schmiet.

And if you’ve never had sardines, don’t fear — they’re very similar (though a bit richer) to tuna.

Avocado and Sardine Toasts
Recipe adapted from Alton Brown
Serves 1

Here’s what I used:

  • half an avocado
  • 2-3 ounces of sliced whole wheat ciabatta
  • 1 tin of sardines, drained
  • crushed red pepper flakes
  • salt, pepper
  • olive oil
  • lemon

Here’s what I did:

  1. In a small bowl, mash the avocado along with some salt, pepper, a pinch of crushed red, and a squeeze of lemon.
  2. In a separate small bowl, mash the sardines.
  3. Toast some bread, and smear with the mashed sardines first, then the avocado on top. Drizzle on a little olive oil and enjoy.
Tagged

4 thoughts on “Avocado and Sardine Toasts

  1. I made this recipe not long after I watched this episode of Good Eats and my husband and I both loved it. I thought it was funny to hear other people’s shock and horror over the fact that I’d actually make this. Don’t knock it til you try it, I always say!

  2. vanessa says:

    I just got a bunch of flack from a group of my friends too! Their loss!

  3. Rita says:

    That sounds really yummy, Vanessa… you know I am going to have to try it. Don’t think that anyone else in this house will like it, though. Their loss I say!

Leave a Reply

